Home

Test revisited

July 6, 2007

darkwood5aresized.jpg 

Well, I feel rather sheepish, but I have to be honest.  I ended up accepting the harpsichord decoration commission. 

The customer (not the instrument maker) called me direct and asked if I would reconsider. He loved my work best out of the others they’d reviewed and he liked the idea of the instrument being built and decorated in the same village. I didn’t catch his name, but when he came over this afternoon it turns out he is a neighbor of ours.

It all clicked well, and the fact that they chose me for my work, and that it is turning into a kind of community project attracts me alot. I like the couple who commissioned the work and we will be consulting back and forth about the design and painting.

My husband will help me set up the 2 meters long instrument in the studio in such a way that my main work table is free for other work (to see my studio follow this link) . And in recent years I have been working more efficiently, so it should get done faster as well.  And the actual process of painting I adore.

Actually, it would be a dream commission if I looked at it from another perspective. So I think I will!

2 Responses to “Test revisited”


  1. I don’t think you should feel sheepish at all; you need make no apologies for the decisions that are right for you, no matter what you’ve said previously.

    Perspective makes all the difference, doesn’t it? I’ve accepted a writing assignment that doesn’t make me jump up and down (for reasons I can’t explain), but I’m trying to look at the coming week from a more positive perspective, too. If I can just focus on the writing, which I love, and not all the stress that comes around it, things will be fine.

    I have to say that I think it’s absolutely wonderful that people not only still have harpsichords but commission them to be painted. Will this be an instrument that is played?

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    Thanks Alison, I appreciate your words.
    Yes, I get it with your writing assignment, stress enters accepting certain commissions for me too. Focusing on the writing is the key, you’ll generate energy. Creativity most always does.

    Yes, the instrument will be loved and played. It is very exciting to watch some wood and paint eventually turn into a harpsichord, almost like the birth of a being. Will post about it.


Leave a Reply

