Home

Is attracting clients like attracting a date? Part 2

September 18, 2007

Staying with this comparison between attracting a date and atttracting buyers for our work, I’d like to suggest that there is a way out of the chase.

To me, it makes more sense if you want a relationship, to focus on and develop your wholeness in such a way you can share that with someone else. In so doing, your starting point is satisfaction with your situation. We instinctively feel this attitude of giving and self sufficiency in someone and are just naturally attracted to it.

In creating an income from our work, the same attitude can be used. If there is genuine love and dedication to excellence in your work, you will have the incentive to also learn how to direct it into the right channels where it can create a livelihood.
I recently read a book where the idea of ‘doing what you love and the money will follow’ was seriously challenged;  
and the authors could be right. But I’d like to believe it and it is one of the principles I work from.

Also, on a more difficult note, to support creatives adequately, there has to be a shift in values in the present society. A shift in values brings about a shift in structures (not the other way around!).   And I feel that many of us are pioneering these changes. Oh gosh it is time for the ‘Marketing versus soul values’  lecture.   I’ll try to get to that today.

2 Responses to “Is attracting clients like attracting a date? Part 2”


  1. I’m appreciating this train of entries very much and I’m looking forward to hearing more of your thoughts on the subject of marketing. As a newcomer to the art-as-a-living path, I’m struggling to figure out how to make it work, how to get over that first initial hump of building a base of customers and clients.

    I agree that being part of a community is essential. I’ve noticed that the artists who are most successful on Etsy, where I sell my maps, tend to be the ones who have reached out the most to their customers — not as customers, but as people. The artists have either integrated themselves into communities that already existed, such as the Etsy forums, or have built their own communities through blogs and other tools.

    The nice thing about this is that, as part of a community, it becomes less of a buy-sell arrangement. Everyone brings something to the table. And it is rewarding far beyond any financial gain, to build relationships with the community membes.

    The hardest thing about this for me is that I am painfully shy. It’s much easier for me to become part of an online community than it is for me to go out into my local community and meet people. How does one do that?


  2. Hi Alison,
    I am so glad you brought this up, because I was about to mention Etsy in my next post. Also I really like what you’ve written, it is a good addition to this thread.
    Kudos to all the brave little businesses on Etsy who make handmade goods with love and integrity. The world needs more of these kinds of people, products and the values they are invested with.

    I feel that these small businesses are in keeping with my own thoughts on new or anti-marketing in that they begin with a heartfelt product or message and the business grows from that impulse rather than the question,’How can I turn a quick profit?’.

    As to your shyness, and how to meet people. I guess my answer would be, you don’t have to meet a community, you just have to start with one person and build on that. One step at a time, and one which feels natural and good.


Leave a Reply

