Home

Tai chi as an offering

December 22, 2007

The whole landscape is covered in frost crystals, a hoar frost.  Even though I miss having snow, it looks Christmassy out there, and I am thankful.

I used to express my overflow of gratitude at nature’s beauty in my painting. But I would often get frustrated because my efforts would fall short of what I was seeing or feeling.  And it seemed that I was walking around always on the lookout for a good painting, which is a lot like always looking for the next photo. Often you stop experiencing what is in front of you while you are trying to exploit it in some way for your own needs.

For a long while I missed some kind of interchange with the things in nature that touched me. I wrote haikus for several years, that was satisfying.

But today I discovered something. Tai Chi as a tribute to beauty and a way to be a part of the world.  I went out in the cold winter sun, to a patch of ground in the cemetery nearby, and under the frosted trees I did my dance of Tai Chi as a thank you for being part of this perfect world.

Leave a Reply

