Home

Transforming your vocation

December 25, 2007

When I was a graphic designer I missed an aspect of community service in my work. It was always business and deadlines and figuring out prices.

There has always been a strong pull toward the healing professions for me, and around 15 years ago I began to look for ways to work as a healer. I felt that my previous work as an artist designer had little left to offer me.

This quest eventually led me to working as an artist healer in hospitals. See my site for details of this work.

But lately something wonderful is happening. The separation between healing and my career in graphics/calligraphy/fine art is itself healing.  From my own experience and from others’ fine examples, I have realized something I always knew deep down, it actually doesn’t matter what you do, but who you are. Your approach is what makes something merely one more job done,  or a healing gesture. 

It started with the harpsichord painting. Because of the warm contact with the customer who was also a neighbor, the job had all the elements of community, connection and appreciation I’d been looking for elsewhere. The ‘healing’ aspect was more subtle, and had to do with how touched my neighbor was by all the work and love evident in the decoration.

I notice with my other commissions, they are not just about fulfilling the client’s requirements, but about supporting them in coming to the best solution for the fairest price. And as my husband does, delivering work that is designed to last a lifetime or more.

I find that opportunities for healing, reconciliation, and building community are coming to me now through the work I have been doing my whole life as second nature. I feel reconnected to my craft, to my colleague artists and to the world. Not that there aren’t new challenges, every job is a new situation, but that in a sense I have come home to my Vein of Gold and found there what I’d been searching for everywhere else.

Go figure.

Anyone else have similar experiences? I’d love to hear.

Leave a Reply

