Home

Playing

April 13, 2008

           

When I saw these tiny (about 3cm x 4cm) tea boxes I immediately wanted to ‘do’ something with them. Staying true to my new motto, ‘Don’t save yet more stuff! If it inspires you enough to pick it up, DO something with it NOW’,’ I started playing with the box by covering it with some recent experimental ink drawings. 

As often happens, I may not be inspired when I pick up the materials, but once I get to work the ideas start flowing.

I wanted to fill the box with snippets of mini-abstract paintings/ drawings, created by moving an empty matte window around some recent work. I chose a piece of experimental calligraphy, (more in a future post), that I considered a ‘failure’ as a total piece but still containing interesting details, and I cut it up.

 

 My drawing table is a mess,  evidence of a wonderful morning.

3 Responses to “Playing”

  1. madsilence Says:

    Honeybush Caramel Tea? Sounds herbal and interesting. Although my heart and tongue belong to the black teas: Twinings, Barry’s Irish Tea, and Typhoo (an English brand). Recently tried PG Tips, another English black tea blend: light and floral.

    MadSilence

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    Yes, herbal teas are an acquired taste. Black teas affect me the same way coffee does (speedy etc etc), so they are not included in my daily fare.

    My alltime favorite tea,sent to me by a friend, I have never seen even a trace of again was ‘Twinings Rose Suchong’. A lapsang suchong with rose petals. For years I kept part of the package as evidence that it really did exist!


  3. Wonderful!! and I love tea too 🙂


Leave a Reply

