Home

One for Beauty

July 27, 2008

Carrying on from the last post:  a fellow artist was telling me how she had been feeling badly and she put on some music and it lifted her spirits right up. And she realized more strongly than ever how important beauty is in our lives as a counterweight to all the conflict and ugliness we are exposed to daily. People need beautiful things around them.   This is as good a reason as any to keep making art.

It vindicated me, because I tend to work more decoratively and am aesthetically oriented than many of my more edgy colleagues. And I realized that is just fine. There is a place for all of it.

Ted Orland and David Bayles in ‘Art & Fear’, said, ‘ It has been a tough century for modesty, craftsmanship and tenderness’. I’d add ‘beauty’ to this list.

4 Responses to “One for Beauty”

  1. m Says:

    yes…. and somehow coming out on the side of beauty is hard or not appreciated. I was trying to explain why I wanted if I ever make another documentary to go with a cinematographer (and it would have to be in India) and what the budget implications would be … but I’m SO over seem crappily and shoddily and UGLY docummentaries made cheaply. And I feel the audience is as well.

    By the way if you have the chance go and see Encounters at the End of the World by Werner Herzog – it looks beautiful.

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    There are probably ugly documentaries made expensively too! But I get your point.
    Well, m- go ahead and make something beautiful!
    I’ll keep a lookout for the Herzog.


  3. I often think that all that conflict and ugliness exist BECAUSE people aren’t exposed to enough beauty. That if the world were filled with more appreciation for the little beauties around us, then people wouldn’t be so likely to throw it all away or take it for granted. But it’s so easy to get caught up in the daily stress of living.


Leave a Reply

