Home

Water, fire, love

October 29, 2008

Continuing on with recent work, here are some more from the series (see more in ‘Gallery of Current work’ under the ‘Pages’ heading to the right).

The far left one I just made for a friend, it is only 3 by 3 inches.

I like the one in the middle best. When I look at it I get that gut feeling of connection and rightness that comes with one’s best work.  In person it is strong with the dark turquoise shades, and the little metallic gold lightning flames just glow.

I guess one of the things that is most satisfying with breakthroughs like this, is that I can recognize elements of some of the art which has really moved me in the past recurring in this work. Like the period when I was immersed in Krabbé’s oil paintings. I hit a dead end trying to imitate them, but after having let it go, I see elements of what I liked most surfacing in this work.  For instance, some of the forms, but most of all the feeling of lightness and play.

Once again I have experienced:  in art, if you want to do something, you need to approach it sideways, never head on. At least that is how it works for me.  Things need to be left alone to ferment and ripen in their own time, and then, when you least expect it, it snaps into place entirely surprising you, yet entirely your own.

6 Responses to “Water, fire, love”

  1. rhiannonmc Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Have really enjoyed catching up with your blog. Loved reading about how these new pieces of work have evolved – they are beautifully cheerful to look at as it gets greyer outside !

    Also been moved to read more about the Peace Pilgrim again.

    Groetjes 🙂

  2. madsilence Says:

    My favorite is Warfhuizen Moonday. It has a celebratory feeling to it.

    I recently discovered the collages of Nora Aslan at a NYC gallery:
    http://www.pavelzoubok.com/node/nora-aslan-tiempos-interesantes

    Richly detailed work composed of digital printed images.

    ~MadSilence


  3. Hello Sarah

    I feel I’m doing a lot of tackling head on at the moment. I shall try to sidle up on stuff a little more.

    M

  4. szoutewelle Says:

    Michael,
    yes, I know that feeling.
    You have to sort of hunker down and try to look innocent and invisible while you creep up.

    Oh, and you alss might just act as if you couldn’t care less about any of it. If you decide to give up and get a job as a dish washer, for instance, your muse will panic and start behaving herself!

  5. szoutewelle Says:

    MadSilence,
    thanks for the link, they must be wonderful in real life.

    yes, somehow the whole series is celebratory, which makes me happy.
    cheers, Sarah

  6. szoutewelle Says:

    rhiannon, sorry that your post slipped by without me approving or replying to it until now.
    Thanks for stopping by and for your warm response to my new work.


Leave a Reply

