Home

She only flew

November 26, 2008

she-only-flew-a

I’ve kept an old America Style magazine from 1996. One of the works of art which touched me most was by Brian Andreas . It was a little assemblage with the words,’for a long time she flew only when she thought no one else was watching’. The words have stayed with me for these past 12 years and the oil pastel collage above is a little tribute to Andreas’ piece.  I hadn’t seen his artwork for years, and when I looked it up this evening, I noticed that even after all this time, some of his visual language had crept into my piece.  It made me smile.

I remember in my Dutch class, we had to write a short story. Mine was about a woman who flew at dawn, when she thought no one was watching.  After a long and lonely period, she eventually became aware of others like herself, hidden angels.  When I had to read the story aloud in class tears came to my eyes. I still don’t know why. Do we all have a dream to fly?

ps Since writing this post, I’ve discovered Brian’s ‘storypeople’ site. I had run across it months ago without making the connection, but now I know why I had such a good feeling about it. Makes me want to get on the next plane to Iowa. Check it out!

5 Responses to “She only flew”

  1. MadSilence Says:

    Don’t most people want to fly? To escape from & ascend above physical constraints and problems? To enter higher realms, searching for higher wisdom?

    Interesting that your character flies “when she thought no one was watching.” Most of us feel isolated & lonely (part of being human & separate?) and long to find others like us who can understand, “she eventually became aware of others like herself.”

    I enjoyed your collage & the work of Brian Andreas. My interest in collage is growing.

    Can a magazine from 1996 be considered “old?”

    ~MadSilence

  2. Sarah Says:

    I enjoyed your insights on flying, I agree.

    ‘Can a magazine from 1996 be considered old’, I wish it wasn’t so, but that’s the feeling. Things just move so fast these days.

    I love the collages and assemblages of Lenore Tawney. She has been widely imitated. I am not sure if there is much info about herartwork, probably more about her weaving. I have a book about her from the Museum of American Craft.

  3. Sarah Says:

    to madsilence continued-
    about Lenore Tawney, there is quite a bit on her on the web, I just checked. There is a link to her collage postcards unde the heading ‘Lenore Tawney, Signs on the Wind -Postcard collages’. If you click the link ( I can’t copy it here because it is lines and lines of code and no hyperlink) and scroll down, you’ll find photos of her collages. They are unique.

  4. Robyn Says:

    I love the words of Brian Andreas and the quote you mentioned is one of my favourites. Your collage is perfect for this quote.

  5. szoutewelle Says:

    Robyn, I am so glad you recognise this. As I mentioned in a previoius post, it is a gift to encounter someone who resonates to one’s work on the same level it was made. I am also amazed to find someone else who knows Brian Andreas’work. For me, he was just a name in a magazine, I had never seen other work of his before or since.


Leave a Reply

