Home

Mystic archetype explains a lot

December 11, 2008

I am working through Carol Lloyd’s, ‘Creating a life worth living’.    In her list of creative archetypes I recognized myself in a few, such as the ‘maker, ‘the generator’ of ideas, and the teacher and healer. But the real eye opener for me was the portrait of the mystic, one I wouldn’t have chosen myself, but which in most aspects fit like a glove. Here is what Lloyd has to say about this type of creator: (partly paraphrased)

Mystics are less product oriented , their creativity springs from their ethical and spiritual beliefs. First and foremost they live creative lives moment by moment. Mystics create moments, moods, ambiences, sometimes as art, sometimes as a story or a cake.
Their art is ephermeral, they make wonderful performers…and interdisciplinary artists.

With their purity of vision and strength of convictions, mystics can have a tough time in our materialistic, logic-based culture. As children they were are often ridiculed and excluded. As an adult they are often adored because of their ability to connect to others in intimate creative ways, but in the professional world they are still expected to be hard nosed and clear headed. Driven by a burning core and nothing else, they are fiercely independent thinkers.  They are less likely to be interested in business or large scale organisations.  They do best living lives of simplicity. Since they tend to be unwilling to work the system, networking their way through a heirarchy or schmoozing their way into a job can be an onerous and unnatural chore.

Um, tell me about it.

However, if I only had the mystic in me, then I would retreat to an island somewhere and live quietly and keep my mouth shut. But there is also another part which wants to affect the world in a positive and tangible way. And which keeps me writing proposals to organisations which have never heard of me,  making cold calls,  and other tasks which indeed I feel are onerous.  In my saner moments, I think I would rather leave all of this pioneering stuff to someone else, and just quietly get on with making and writing about art.

I just might.

4 Responses to “Mystic archetype explains a lot”

  1. Julie Murray Says:

    I stumbled upon your blog today, and I’m stunned by the above description of the Mystic archetype. That’s me – my experience in every way! I read Caroline Myss’s Sacred Contracts regarding archetypes and felt misgivings about choosing the Mystic, but I did. However, the above description rings more true for me, encompassing the use of Art as both source and creation. I don’t think anything merely product-driven can be birthed from the soul! So thanks for sharing this. I’ll be reading Carol Lloyd’s book. Really love the blog!

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Thanks Julie. I like your sentence,’I don’t think anything merely product-driven can be birthed from the soul’ and agree completely.
      Yes, I would definitely recommend Carol Lloyd’s book.
      Right now I am reading’The gift’ by Lewis Hyde. The classical quote slightly paraphrased here is his,’ Art is a gift not a commodity, and every modern artist working with a gift sometime has to wonder how to survive in this consumer society’. I’ll be writing some posts about this book soon. (According to some reader’s reviews on Amazon, there are some dense chapters to struggle through, so I am not recommending it before I finish it).
      thanks for stumbling by.

  2. sherrie Says:

    Hey, I just found you by accident after taking a quiz on Writer’s Digest about the archetypes of our protagonist or main character. So, I had two equally divided: Mystic and Amazon.
    I was trying to find out more. But, the description of the Mystic here intrigued me because I see a lot of myself in it. I have studied visual art, photography, film theory and finally got my MFA in Creative Writing so I could get this story out that has been rolling around in my head for twenty years.
    I feel so connected to this description also because, as a teacher, I connected with some of my students on a very personal, often spiritual, level.
    I have finally quit teaching (for now). I do earn a small retirement after having put in 20 years.
    I have given away most of my art, or it has been lost. I never thought about making money with my art. This story though, needs to be told. It needs to be read by many people. Yes, I do hope it generates some income, at least enough for me to travel around and talk to people about the book. And once that happens, I do hope to write another though I have no idea which story that will be.
    Well, thank you for posting this. At least, you answered part of my question. Both my protagonist and I are Mystics. Now, to find out what an Amazon consists of. 😉

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Sherrie, thanks for your comment. I hope you get your book done and out there, because it obviously is a need for you.
      As for making an income with it, well I wish you well. Even the more popular authors don’t see their writing as income producing. It takes lots of sales to start to break even, and then at the usual 10% royalty, it isn’t much. Good luck, though.


Leave a Reply

