Home

Memory bundles

August 18, 2009

memory bundles

Last weekend I cycled to a favorite spot of mine on the northern sea coast of Holland. It is not far from where we live, and I don’t know why it holds such a fascination for me. I think part of it might be that it reminds me of the inner Hebrides in Scotland. There are always sheep walking on the sea dike, there are no trees and there’s loads of sky and space;  it’s a lot like Erraid and Iona.

I wanted to somehow bring back part of the feeling of peace I find there, so collected some grasses, a feather, and some( filthy) sheepswool.

I made the little memory bundle when I came back, a soothing activity in itself. It is about 4 inches long. The tiny calligraphed label notes the place, date and a few words about the experience.

The bundle on the left top was inspired by several things coming together.  When I am pruning in the garden, I always am attracted to colours and textures of the dried out flower stalks. Occasionally I keep them around as they are, but I never quite know what to do with them. 

Harry K, a friend from my online artist’s group mentioned an artist, Willem Boshoff whose work includes bundled twigs from various places. 

So I decided to make small bundles of various dried plant stalks from my garden, label and  and save them for awhile.

The one above is from a clematis with a tiny but fragrant flower. For weeks we’d get blasted by a cloud of vanilla perfume whenever we’d pass by it.  It’s official name is ‘Clematis x triternata ‘Rubromarginata’.

4 Responses to “Memory bundles”

  1. madsilence Says:

    When I first read the title of this post I thought of technology & computers & electronic memory. How pleasant to learn of low tech memory bundles. I’ve created such bundles since I was a child, returning from walks with feathers, nuts, twigs, leaves, shells, etc., the organic reminders of strolls in nature.

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    would this be father or daughter here, madsilence? I would risk guessing …daughter. Because I don’t know if little boys would ‘do’ memory bundles.
    I am so glad you still make them. These childhood pasttimes are so close to the core somehow.
    I remember the shock of recognition I had when seeing Andy Goldsworthy’s work for the first time. It was just, ‘I do that too!!’. Though he has elevated it to a sublime level.

    When my hub and I were in France on vacation, camping, I would find myself playing in the dirt, creating miniature gardens, happy as a clam. That was a sign for me that I had finally arrived on vacation and left my head full of busyness behind.

    I liked your first hit on ‘memory bundles’, that was funny.

  3. madsilence Says:

    MadSilence to&w (the older & wiser)!

    Think on the art of found objects.

    Most of our “memory bundles” are objects from nature, organic materials, with living memories.

  4. sarah Says:

    hi older wiser,
    I love the phrase, ‘art of found objects’.


Leave a Reply

