Home

Ending exhibition ritual

August 30, 2009

encounter

Encounter, Oil pastel on charcoal paper

There should be some kind of ritual to accompany the act of breaking down a show and bringing most of your old friends back home again.

I sold enough to cover costs, just. But still I brought home most of the work I had first departed with two months ago. 170 people visited the gallery, several left nice comments behind in the guest book.

The gallery owner said she’d rarely had a show where people spent so much time enthusing and so little buying. Well, there was a really nice energy around the whole show, and while I would have loved to have sold more, I’m pleased with the overall reception of the work.

There are several pieces I didn’t photograph which I am happy I didn’t have to let go of without a record.

Soon I’m going to have a ‘Featured Artwork’ page on my blog or site where one piece will be showcased every month or so.

Meanwhile, I will hang up some of my returned 17 framed artworks and put the rest gently into storage.  I’ll consciously appreciate how happy they look in their mattes and frames and let them rest with us here for awhile before exposing them to the public again.

That is as much of a ritual I can come up with at the moment.

3 Responses to “Ending exhibition ritual”

  1. sandi Says:

    Like the painting above very much! Reminds me of Chagall but I personally like yours better. More understandable to me. Get pictures of all the ones you didn’t! Once in awhile I remember one or another I let go and never see again. It is almost like a child grown and gone but never calls… Love idea of having various pieces posted here.

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    hi sandi, thanks for dropping by.
    Yes I agree with you, it is important to have a record of all one’s ‘children’.

    A friend mentioned one of mine she’s had hanging all these years, I never remembered selling her one. It happens to me all the time, I must have dozens (or more?) of artworks out there living their own lives as part of someone else’s story, that I’ve sold or given away these last 35 years. I like that idea.

    Yes, unlike you, I am not a computer whiz, so if I want to have a changing exhibit, this is the easiest place to do it. They will also be up for sale.


  3. Hi Sarah,

    I thought I’d pop by for a visit. This latest work looks like a dream sequence.Beautiful contrasts in colours, as usual in your art.

    Dale


Leave a Reply

