Home

Featured artwork #2 Angel Fossil

December 28, 2009

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Angel Fossil – This piece is one of about 6 mini-oil paintings with a stone theme. They will all be featured here in the next weeks.

Size: 16 x16 cm
            6.25 x 6.25 inches  

Medium: oil on cardboard  

Story:  Several years ago, I had a period of working with soapstone; one sculpture of light sea green stone became, ‘Angel Fossil’. Right at the center of the wing form the stone is so thin that it is almost transparent. Most of the hand sized forms I made during this time resembled shells or stones that you could have bent down and picked up, either on a deserted beach or deep in the woods.

What I like about this piece: I like the whimsy and the colour in this painting.  Also, the spiral in the lower left hand colour intrigues me and confirms the bond that these forms had with shells.

Tip:  The paintings in this first series are the same format and very affordable. If you buy 3 at a time, with one simple *adjustable frame (no matte needed) for all three, you can frame each one in turn according to your mood. Contact me for images of the whole series at info@artwell.nl
* adjustable frames allow you to frame and de-frame pieces easily with just a turn of the swivel clips on the back.

Price: $25      €17      15 GBP         plus Shipping:  $5     €3,50      3GBP 
Please note, all work is delivered unframed 

Ordering info: Please click here.

2 Responses to “Featured artwork #2 Angel Fossil”

  1. Goldenpear Says:

    This is stunning! I love your use of these shapes.

  2. szoutewelle Says:

    Thanks Golden Pear. I was sorry to hear about the loss of your work in a flood. I think I’d be a bit paranoid about getting a visual record of my work after that,too!
    I enjoyed seeing your honest and colorful paintings.


Leave a Reply

