Home

People in transition

April 16, 2010

Today a friend and I decided to embark on an adventure together.  She is at a crossroads and I have the time, a quiet sunny space and vested interest in seeing her shine.  So we are going to get together regularly and do creative discovery exercises until she finds what her heart wants to tell her.

People in transition are so beautiful. They have taken the risk to let go of whatever wasn’t nourishing them, even if it was safe, and they have leapt without any assurance that there will be a net there to catch them.  Their identity is in shreds, especially if they identified with their former activities, they are vulnerable, a little lost and therefore wide open.  Whenever I get the chance to work with someone in this chaotic period, it feels like a present has just been delivered into my lap.  Because this is what makes me light up— seeing the creative potential in people, often before they do, and accompanying them through the dark period that comes before they start believing in themselves again.  This work is what I have always been moving toward, so my new companion on this journey has no idea how much she is giving me by letting me do what I’m good at and love to do.

And of course, now I am grateful for the years here where I too felt lost and like a failure because I wasn’t listening to my own heart, and as a result nothing I did led to structural income generation or lasting fulfillment. Through those lonely years, though, I gained the tools to help myself;  and now they can be applied to others in the same situation.

5 Responses to “People in transition”

  1. mary Says:

    wonderful ! hope you do them too Sarahz. Rhiannon & I’s creative troika which meets every two weeks is a wonderful life affirming and encouraging thing

  2. sarah Says:

    hi mary, do you mean you hope I do the exercises too?
    And yes, I would love to have a little creative group on a regular basis. So glad you do.

  3. mary Says:

    yes sorry my grammar is often to pot when writing in haste…

  4. Jeffrey T Davis Says:

    Beautifully articulated, old friend. I saw the movie, “Up in the Air” last night- about a rather shallow fellow (Geoge Clooney) who serves as a hired gun to lay people off from their long-held jobs. The parallel to your blog is one of the canned messages he uses to shepherd the downtrodden victims of job loss across the psychic transition into considering the beauty that resides on the other side. Though likely disengenuous, it still had great power.

    Having laid off almost 40 people from my company over the past 18 months, I have witnessed the same resolve as your friend by many of these ‘victims’ – to retrench and elevate their aspirations for deeper life commitments. How beautiful that you can serve your friend as a guide toward more creative fulfillment. You bless each other’s higher purpose. Symetrical and circular……..Jeff

    • szoutewelle Says:

      hi Jeff,
      lovely to welcome you here. Your comment is a beautiul addition to the original post, thank you.
      I know how hard it has been for you to lay off people, I hope it is some consolation to you that for some, it could be a door to another, richer life.


Leave a Reply

