Home

Chocolate Rain is now easy to obtain

March 25, 2011

 Click here   Introduction   to look inside and read the introduction.

There have been various availability problems primarily for people in the US who want to buy my book. I am happy to say that book depository now carries ‘Chocolate Rain, 100 ideas for a creative approach to activities in dementia care’.  They ship all over the world for free! And they are a good, reliable business, we order books there regularly.

3 Responses to “Chocolate Rain is now easy to obtain”

  1. Eva Says:

    Dear Sarah,

    I live in Germany and I’ve obtained ‘Chocolate Rain’ via Amazon. I came across it via John Killick’s and Kate Allan’s site http://www.dementiapositive.co.uk and got into contact with them, too.
    Thanks for writing this book! I find it’s really encouraging and inspiring. If I’d had it in my hands 25 years ago, I’d probably got more courage concerning the decision what job I should train for. I had tried to become a nurse in a mental hospital, probably what I should have tried was rather something like occupational therapy. But already then, I experienced some of the things that you describe. Such as, whatever I was to do, it made a vital experience whether I was really there, being with the person in this moment. A difference for me, and I felt also a difference for the person I cared for. Even if it was ‘only’ assisting in basic things such as helping someone washing, clothing, eating, or how I said hello in the mornings, etc. Or when I could make someone smile or lough.
    At Christmas, I remember bringing my guitar and singing for the patients. (It was a closed long-term unit, most probably ‘end of the line’ for many of them.)
    My nursing training contract was terminated after the first half year, so I had to take another way.It took me a while to get over that. Drawing helped a lot.
    Now I’m a software developer but still draw and paint. Rather than calling it ‘hobby’, I’d say it’s an essential part of my life.
    Dementia has come into my life, too, since my mother was diagnosed 2 1/2 years ago.
    I’d be interested in a mail contact if you like.

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Hi Eva, thanks for contacting me, I am glad ‘Chocolate Rain’ has been helpful to you. Nice to hear that you heard about it through John and Kate, they are doing great work in the field.
      I’m sorry to hear about your mother’s diagnosis. Please feel free to contact me via mail.

  2. Eva Says:

    Hi Sarah,
    Thanks for your reply.
    Where on your site or blog can I find your mail address? I guess “no-reply@wordpress.com” isn’t the correct one?
    Kind regards
    Eva


Leave a Reply

