Home

3 revolutionary new streams in creative marketing that will replace social networking- Part 1

June 11, 2011

I need to explain first that the title to this post is cynically meant. I don’t know what the next  3 marketing hypes are going to be, only that there will be a new wave of them that will make our current ones obsolete.

On the other hand, if you read this series, you will find many more than 3 tips that should serve you for your entire working life, and enable you to stay steady and focused regardless of  any new marketing wave that hits.

My cyber buddy Thea from Spoonful zine recently wrote me:

I went to a talk where someone was discussing marketing online businesses (he was from Etsy) and how they created a community and spread the word online etc… in his talk he showed a picture of a ceiling fan, and said that he’s all for online marketing and communities and spreading the word etc, but it’s all getting crazy. For example, if a ceiling fan company were to start a community and blog etc about ceiling fans and you could meet other ceiling fan owners… well,it would be silly and not useful at all really. And that it is important to market appropriately – I think a whole lot of people are getting a little inappropriate and this was a little extreme but cute example.

 

We’re in the middle of many different hypes, friends,

and the guy from Etsy has just pinpointed one of them. He’s lifted us momentarily out of this particular box so we can see it from the outside. AND see that it is just one of many boxes, or limited ways to think about something.
Everyone with a product or service to sell has been relentlessly badgered to ‘create an online community’ of customers through the use of blogs, forums, membership programs, freebies etc. This, in order to bind the customer to a particular firm. But this technique, like all the other previously new ideas, has saturated the market to the point where it no longer has any meaning.

Twitter, Facebook, and Linked-in will all suffer the same fate (people are already starting to question the hype around social networking as a purely promotional technique);  one day they will be overtaken by the really new innovative next idea or technology. And we, anxious to make our living, will all run after the next trend.

How do we break this manipulative, crazy making chain?
The title of this post is mostly a trick. If it has lured you here looking for ways to sell your art, I apologise, but this sort of thing is being done to you every day. Please keep reading because I won’t be talking about a new hype, but about solid enduring ways to think about getting your work to its best audience. See next post.

4 Responses to “3 revolutionary new streams in creative marketing that will replace social networking- Part 1”


  1. i deeply appreciate your thoughts on this hyped online marketing. i myself have wasted much studio time trying to update my online presence in sites i post my paintings in. i always end up frustrated. i can literally spend 8 hours tinkering with my computer and not producing any artwork for the day! finding Art Calling has made me re-think much about the way i have allowed myself to be sucked into this chaotic frenzy. i know that my creative energy is ebbing away due to all these. one thing i connect with Art Calling is that i create in a contemplative space and i feel lost in impersonal galleries! i connect very much with your beautiful shop which was featured in Spoonful mag. i also dream of having a shop where my friends can come by appointment. it’d be a tea sharing time, too. ahhhh, i’d love to drop by your shop, but holland is far far away! :):):)

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Hey Alpha, always nice to hear from you. I understand your dilemma. Maybe it would be good to designate certain days for your internet marketing work. It looks to me like you’ve done an enormous amount to get your work presented, now all you have to do is maintenance once in awhile for a time until you feel ready for the more active promotional work. For me it goes in cycles.

      I’m not against selling on internet, nor do I disapprove of genuine community building- i think they are wonderful tools if used rightly and they open up a lot of possibilities. I guess I’m just saying that all the points in this 3 part series, like commitment etc come first- and are ultimately the most important elements in having art as your calling. I know you understand this.

      I love my shop too, and have this image of friends coming by, but after the first 2 invited weekends, no one has come. Either I have to hold on and wait until the people who have passed by and wondered what it was, come and look. Or I have to find a form that fits better with me. I tend to be happiest with people when I’m not trying to sell anything, but teaching instead. So I may have to rethink the form. That’s ok, this is an ongoing exploration. I’m in an out of the way place, but it gets a lot of tourists in summer, but I’m not interested in being open for bored tourists. If they want to come and take a little course that’s another thing. wish you could drop in to my shop too!

  2. The Meltemi Says:

    Just analyse your Facebook and LinkedIn contacts. I did this recently & as an artist mine are either other artists[or people connected to the world of the artist] or family. So I highlight my latest work of art, as found on my website, to people who make their own art!!

    As an advertising strategy its in the same category of advertising in a telephone directory….a total no-brainer.

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Thanks, Phil. I never advertise in the phone book anymore. I live in a provincial rural area and you get totally wrong people calling and wasting your time trying to get your services for next to nothing.

      I guess I’m just not into advertising when it comes to MY work, but that doesn’t mean that I’m against it for other people. These columns are really my explorations into why I’ve not been able to fit myself into the existing marketing ideology, and since I hear this from countless other artists, I’m asking questions about how we can create more soulful and meaningful channels for sharing our creativity and hopefully being able to also earn from it.

      But as I’ve said before, kudos for the people who manage to do well within the existing system.


Leave a Reply

