Home

What you Appreciate Appreciates

June 30, 2011

One of the problems to an anti-marketing stance in art is that people do need to survive.  Personally I opt for not making my artwork the sole means of my financial survival. Though of course I do earn through my creative skills through graphic design, writing and other areas.  It is just that I don’t see my art/craft exclusively as a product nor a way to further my career. Plus, my focus in the arts tends toward its socially engaging, transformative and bridge building qualities.

I cope with my present low income by living simply, and this helps a lot.

At the moment the money versus art issue for me is up big time. (Yes, I know, for a lot of you there is no ‘versus’ but believe me, they are two different worlds). To help with the feelings of disempowerment and negativity I’m experiencing, I turn once again to ‘The Soul of Money’ by Lynne Twist.

What she says about appreciation follows on so well from the series a few posts ago about truthful, sensible marketing.  I’d like to share it here over several posts.

[Sarah’s note: In the book, Twist speaks a lot about ‘sufficiency’,:

…’sufficiency is a context we bring forth from within that reminds us that if we look around us and within ourselves, we will find what we need. There is always enough.’

Most of her examples of sufficiency come from extremely poor cultures and people with very few resources.]

In the context of sufficiency, appreciation becomes a powerful practice of creating new value in our deliberate attention to the value of what we already have.

What you appreciate appreciates. It’s true in our money culture, where a desirable house in a desirable neighborhood appreciates in value from year to year. It’s true in our personal relationships, where our appreciation of someone’s special qualities can make them bloom before our very eyes. It’s true in business, where a company’s commitment to its employees fosters pride and excellence in their work.

And this simple but powerful act we call appreciation expands the freedom, creativity, and ultimately the success we experience, particularly in our relationship with money. Appreciation is the beating heart of sufficiency.

Leave a Reply

