Home

Sandi’s bottles series, #3, finished

February 6, 2012

Sandi's bottles series #3

Here is the finished painting. I’d shown the underpainting several posts ago. I liked working gradually in acrylic glazes and it never seemed quite the right time to switch over into oils. (You can apply oil over acylic, but not vice versa).

The one I’m working on now (not shown) is in oil paint though, and I’m concentrating on applying the paint thicker. The challenge is to suggest transparency in solid (oil) paint, rather than layered transparent acrylic glazes as is done here.

Now I must get back to the harpsichord. Another type of painting altogether!! Pictures soon.

2 Responses to “Sandi’s bottles series, #3, finished”

  1. decorartuk Says:

    Well done! I like the colours and the background that seems to be “moving” – if you know what I mean. But I think I could still be fooled into thinking that this has been done in pastel.

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Yes, it is quite pastelly isn’t it. Maybe because of the white mixed in with the acrylic glaze. yes, I know what you mean about the ‘moving’ background, probably the effect of the rhythmic short brushstrokes. Thanks for your interest.


Leave a Reply

