Home

Acrylic tips

April 26, 2012

Keeping acrylic paints wet

This is a quick post to share a few things I’ve learned in the years I’ve painted with acrylics.

In between sessions, I keep my squeezed out colors moist by first spraying them with a plant sprayer then covering groups of colors with these little plastic mixing cups. Anything else will do, small bottles or jars, but they can’t have too much air in them or the paint will dry. I can keep the colors workable this way for about a day and a night.

And my other tip, learned in the recent workshop I took and wrote about here is to use a big jar for rinsing brushes during painting, filled with hot water. It dissolves the paint much faster and more thoroughly.

Try it, it makes changing colors while painting really pleasant and easy.

2 Responses to “Acrylic tips”

  1. decorartuk Says:

    Hello, Sarah. Thank you for this short post – this is a great idea. I wonder why I never thought of that! It has always been so annoying that painting using acrylics I used to waste so much paint… in the end I even introduced a new technique – squeezing a bit of paint straight onto my brush, but this is so restricting as then you can’t “play” with colours mixing them. K.

    • szoutewelle Says:

      hi, Kristina, nice to hear from you again. Good for you, taking more time away from the computer- but I missed your occasional painting comments. 😉

      Glad you could benefit from the tip. I wasted loads of paint too before I discovered it.

      ps I have your cherry blossom May calendar on my desk top. Its great. thanks.


Leave a Reply

