Home

Bead feed

May 18, 2012

When I’m at ease, free of deadlines,  then before too long, the craft supplies come out.

The annual bead and jewelry fair was in Groningen last weekend, I thought I held back fairly well.  In one stall, there were about 400 (!)colours of size 11 seed beads to choose from! Here is a portion of my purchases, filling in the pink, hot red colurways. And a beautiful range of sage greens, metallic and frosted forest greens, as well as some misty greys and pearls.

fun at the bead fair

And below is a part of my existing seed bead collection.

Mostly tending towards blues, purples and aubergines

And what do I do when I’m let loose on all these gorgeous materials? Below, Evelyn’s necklace in progress.

Multi-strand necklace in progress

My aunt wears a lot of beiges and pastels. My sense of the colours was an antique, cameo feeling, soft golds and ochres, and shell purple and dusty pinks. I finished the multi-strand, then including some hand blown glass beads from Eastern Europe, made a separate strand to wear with it or separately.

Finished necklaces

Here below is my current project, inspired by bracelets I saw at the stall where I got my seed beads, for Dutch readers, Monique’s website is definitely worth a visit. I purchased the directions from her, I”ve never done this particular type of beadwork before and am enjoying the meditative work of threading this (late) mother’s day gift for my mother-in-law.

Some of the bracelets on display were fairly bling bling qua colour, I chose smokey blues, greys and irridescent blacks instead.

Tanny’s bracelet in progress

Detail

6 Responses to “Bead feed”


  1. gosh that looks lovely. I had a spell of getting drawn into the magic world of beads some years ago. There are some fabulous ones out there. Coloured glass again!


  2. oh how i love beads!!! they are so pretty! we had a great bead shop in Laguna Beach California where i grew up, just loved going in there. 🙂
    vanessa

  3. decorartuk Says:

    I love your collection of little beads and I am surprised you didn’t get more at the fair – I’m sure I would have got back home with lots of bags! You’re lucky you can concentrate on some colour schemes; I don’t think about the colours that would go well together and choose the colours I like, i.e. all kinds of greens, yellows, reds, blues… I’m sure you get the idea.

    I also have “beading” periods, that come and go. I think I’m going to experience one really soon, as last week I was already thinking of visiting one magic shop, but now that I’ve seen THIS, I think I’ll run there tomorrow!

    P.S. The necklace and the bracelet are really nice.

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Ooh sounds exciting, what are you going to make?

      Re colour schemes, when I’m in London (The Bead Shop, and a new other one in Neal’s Yard) I just go , ‘Yum, I’ll take this one, and this one and this one’, and get home and see what I’ve got. But when you have loads of colours already, the gaps show up and you can zero in on filling those.

      Glad you like the necklace and bracelet. I was making a lot of 7 stranded colourway necklaces for friends for awhile.

      • decorartuk Says:

        I use little beads to make bracelets on a cardboard box loom. Here’s a link to a video that shows how it’s done:
        http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1060215/how_to_make_a_beaded_bracelet_on_a_cardboard_box_loom/

        I choose at least two colours and then try to create some patterns – for e.g. stars, flowers. If you need inspiration you can always have a look at traditional patterns, that were used in traditional clothes.

        In Lithuania it’s very popular to wear something that might be called as ‘wrist warmers’ (of course that’s in winter). Women use little beads to ornate them – the beads are actually put on the thread and then taken one at a time to create a pattern, as the ‘wrist warmer’ is being knitted – what I mean is that it isn’t embroidery. Put into google ‘riesines’ and you will see what I am talking about.


Leave a Reply

