Home

Why website?

May 26, 2012

I would like to ask you, the small group of regular readers, or anyone who happens to drop by this blog for suggestions on the following:

My present website, ArtWell was created 5 years ago, and reflected my activities then. It also represented what I thought a website should do. It was my first site and has not been fundamentally changed since it was made. I don’t speak fluent HTML and though I can manage the text, structural stuff like adding pages and slide shows is beyond me. So it is very much out of synch with where I am now; for example, I don’t offer the whole range of dementia services outlined in that category. And the shop isn’t effective at all.

I have been working on a replacement site on Weebly for awhile, and it is OK. It obediently shows an overview of my main work areas with short texts to go with them.

And it totally bores me.

So, what questions would you like me to answer on a website? What can a website add to this blog, which is an up-to-the-minute log of my thoughts, activities, and work in progress?

At the moment I just don’t see the point, yet at the same time it might be an opportunity for something new. I know it might be nice for people to be able to easily navigate through my several portfolios, ie.- harpsichord soundboard painting, oil paintings and oil pastels, and letter work. I guess that would be the reason to maintain a site. But so far it doesn’t really get my bells ringing.

Thoughts appreciated.

12 Responses to “Why website?”

  1. Laura Hughes Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    If it isn’t ringing your bells, do you really need to do it? On the other hand, perhaps lack of clarity is stunting your enthusiasm for it? Are you wanting your website to be an advert for your work and services? Or something else to do with you?

    Do you have your own fave websites (any) that you return to often? Ones that make your heart sing or make you feel excited by what they offer? What is it about those that attracts you? Why do you go back to them? Which of your ‘hungers’ do they satisfy? Perhaps this might give you a direction, even if it’s knowing what you don’t want to do. That can be clarifying too!

    I’m afraid that’s all I can come up with. Good luck!

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Laura, thanks, I was hoping you’d respond to this and your thoughts are helpful.

      I don’t actually like websites very much. And am not really that hot on making my website an advert for my art because I’m not geared to selling art online. It isn’t a goal of mine.

      A place I keep returning to is Keri Smith’s blog because she somehow manages to keep growing and discovering, and her blog reflects that. She opens new windows for me.

      I think my lack of clarity reflects where I am right now. I’m at the end of some kind of cycle creatively and don’t know what’s next. I would like more collaboration and community engagement. I’d like my website to be a meeting place in much the same way my blog is starting to be. we’ll see, thanks.


  2. Hi Sarah! I love your creations so much! They inspire me as I am a beginner and wondering where to start. I began with learning to draw mandalas. The process is slow as I am also into so many other things. Did you start out painting or sketching or what. Thanks so much! I do appreciate your work very much! Annie

    • szoutewelle Says:

      Hi Annie, I am following your Pennsylvania adventures with pleasure.

      Thank you for your response to my work. I saw your mandala and thought it was great.

      I started out as a child using any art materials I could get my hands on. My parents were both really supportive and I was sent to a professional painter, (my beloved mentor and friend long gone, Abe Weiner) for lessons when I was 10 years old. In my 6 years with him I learned to draw in charcoal, then in pastels. I learned to paint only later in art school. But I don’t think I got a good basis there. I’ve mostly taught myself to paint.

      If you are looking for a good basic book on how to draw, I would still recommend the classic, Betty Edwards’s, ‘Drawing on the right side of the brain’. Drawing is simply a matter of learning to see, and this book teaches you to see as an artist does. For freer, more fun type things to do whcih give quick results, I’d ‘try,’Drawing Lab, 52 creative exercises to make drawing fun’. Carla Sonheim.

      good luck, Sarah

  3. RescueABoxer Says:

    I’m not really a regular but I have been visiting your blog for some time now and think you should keep your website as your portfolio.


  4. Hi Sara,
    I’ve only just seen this email as I was away when you posted it. From a personal point of view I enjoy reading about what you’re doing in the creative line and would be sorry to see your blog go if that is what you are considering.
    Best Wishes.


Leave a Reply

