Home

Rende and the lens baby

January 31, 2013

Rende takes his camera for a walk on a grey day here in our little village in northern Holland. He stays with a few routes and stops at places I pass by with the dog daily and see but don’t really see. And he comes home with the loot.

There is a dry dock on the other side of the canal which pulls him like a magnet with all the boats up on supports, stranded out of the water, their encrusted bottoms revealed. There is rust and peeling paint, layers of boat life which he manages to transform into paintings.

The lens baby is a lens that gives you one ‘sweet point’- a point of focus while everything else becomes blurred. One usually sees it used in a  clichéed way, like one rose in focus and the leaves out of focus. But Rende seems to easily bypass that and create a new context for focus and out of focus areas.

As an artist I am continually inspired with what he brings home every day. I love the backgrounds in these, they make me want to paint large areas of blurred and rhythmic colour.

The photos are not just used straight from the camera, he spends lots of time carefully tweaking the Raw versions in Photo shop, mostly to just bring out certain details or rebalance contrasts or colour relationships.

I have to share them here because I get to see these little miracles almost every day. He is so humble he doesn’t push his work, but I feel like it is a real gift to see these creations and get to see the world through his eyes.

6 Responses to “Rende and the lens baby”


  1. I see you’ve got the hang of the photo layouts! These are fabulous images for inspiration. I can see starting points for batik paintings in these. I look forward to more postings.


    • Yes, it just popped into place with this post- I’d been unwittingly choosing the ‘Square Tiles’ option, not having even registered that there was a plain ‘Tiles’ one as well. I finally saw it and voila- just like Sonia’s! Thanks for your kind words on these photos, I’d love to see other people being inspired by them to make their own art.

  2. michael davidson Says:

    I like this ; love it …. I just spent a week at a yoga temple in Atlanta ;there was spiritual art work there capturing the inner mandalas of inner peace represented in the aura of the lotus and the divine stilness experienced within the TAO……Baby lens captures that stillness !! question …what is the baby lens ? can I use it for my nature photos ?


    • hi Michael, thanks for your comment. Sounds like a nice retreat, the yoga temple in Atlanta. I think R’s images carry that same kind of meditative energy.

      The lens baby is a lens that has an adjustable limited spot where things are in focus and the rest fades out. When you order it you specify what camera you have and it can be delivered ready to mount on any of the major brands. If you have more questions, contact me and I’ll send you Rende’s email. And yes, it would probably be great for your nature photos.


  3. Lovely colorful images! Thank you for sharing them. Kudos to Rende!


Leave a Reply

