Home

Collage-a new painting from old paintings

February 15, 2013

collage 1

collage 1

We did a collage session in my drawing class this week and I worked along with my students. I use collage a lot in my work generally, and I was pleased with this result, it opened up some new ground.

I used photos of paintings only (no landscape photos), from a cultural events page in a magazine. I started with the large painting of the nude and cut various shapes out of it to suggest a landscape. The ‘sky ‘is also made up of paintings of nudes.

The ‘discoveries’ for me were the houses and churches silhouetted in the background- they were simply fantasized and cut out of the dark foreground of another painting. Also, the two houses and the paths in the foreground are from other paintings.

7 Responses to “Collage-a new painting from old paintings”


  1. Love the “outside the box” technique of your collage!
    Reaching, ever reaching toward new horizons. Go, Sarah, go!

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thanks Annie. I don’t know why I never considered collage a real part of my art before. Maybe the association with visualisation exercises which is where I use them most, and the media- old magazines. I’ll post more in the future.


  2. Really neat idea. Gives a new meaning to “creativity”.

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      hi taylorann, (Ann, I suppose), thanks, why don’t you try it. I hopped over and saw your dragon drawings- great to look back on past work isn’t it? They were wonderful! cheers, hope your cold is gone.

  3. L`Adelaide Says:

    dear sarah, thank you for your advice and also your support. they are truly appreciated. i trust my doctor and know we will find a way, it will take time to work out but tonight i am definitely not well from the one supplement-mercury detox-i am taking… the taurine seems to be difficult.

    yes we all must become more aware. often it is only thru money that anybody listens. so unfortunate. blessings~~~

  4. birdie Says:

    I like this very much. The surreal feeling really appeals to me.

    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting.


Leave a Reply

