Home

Cup in sunlight

March 28, 2013

Lian's place series- Cup in sunlight

Lian’s place series- Cup in sunlight    oils on canvas board

This is fairly large format. The aim was to not correct too much, to keep the painting fresh, and to not be rigidly tied to depicting reality.

Every week I go to a Tai Chi lesson in the attic studio of our Tai Chi teacher Lian Ong.  Often, while performing the slow, hypnotic movements of the form, my eye strays to the little lounge where sunlight streams in and lights up the yellow and orange soft furniture.  I’ve started bringing my camera because of the visual richness in this little space- there is a small wooden glass-fronted cupboard with a hodge-podge of beautiful little ceramic cups, for one. I placed one of them on the floor for this picture.

This tranquil space has found its way into several works of mine already, and there will be more to come.

Here is the original photo.

photo

photo

6 Responses to “Cup in sunlight”


  1. I am mesmerized by the abstract mixing with realism in your painting. But your photo! It is surreal! A still point…. Brilliant!

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thanks Annie, that is where I think I am headed, and what I love best in the work of Elizabeth Blackadder and of Jeroen Krabbé (to mention two artists whose work I have seen and studied close up several times). The photo was casually snapped by me during the lesson, and admittedly made a lot better by Rende’s crop. Thank you!

  2. decorartuk Says:

    That’s very unexpected, I guess it’s because without the photo below I wouldn’t have guessed what it was. Love the colours and the way everything is “tied” into one big canvas. I call it a success!

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Glad you liked it, K. Surprising that the subject wasn’t evident, I hadn’t thought about that at all. But I can see how that could be.


  3. I teach Tai Chi and can see how it has seeped into your canvas -glorious


Leave a Reply

