Home

Fruit bowl on Persian carpet

August 15, 2013

Els' fruit bowl on Persian carpet ,  Oil on canvas board

Els’ fruit bowl on Persian carpet , Oil on canvas board

This is one of the more ambitious paintings I’ve attempted, it is 50 x 70 cm (about 20 x 30 inches). It was a constant challenge to not get caught up in details, especially with the intricate carpet.

I loved working with the rich range of rusts, dusty pinks, indian reds, burnt siennas, and deep rose colors.

 

8 Responses to “Fruit bowl on Persian carpet”

  1. Joline Frazier Says:

    This is Beautiful!!!!


  2. Scrumptious! You’ve managed to keep a distinction between the two very different objects – fruit and carpet. not an easy task. Well done for pushing yourself and excelling!


    • thanks so much! You are right about that particular challenge.
      This painting is still tighter than I want to eventually work. The one I’m doing now is much closer to my sense of how I’d like to paint, stay tuned. cheers, Sarah

  3. decorartuk Says:

    I knew it was a Persian carpet! I love the subject you have chosen (I don’t think I would dare paint something like that… as you have correctly pointed out – it would be really easy to get caught up in details). Well done! K.

    P.S. This is just an idea that sparked looking at your painting – you might like one book – “The Blood of Flowers” by Anita Amirrezvani. It’s brilliant. Here’s a short summary that will help you understand what made me think of it:

    “Both a sweeping love story and a luminous portrait of a city, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS is the mesmerizing historical novel of an ill-fated young woman whose gift as a rug designer transforms her life. Illuminated with glorious detail of persian rug-making, and brilliantly bringing to life the sights sounds and life of 17th-century Isfahan, THE BLOOD OF FLOWERS has captured readers’ imaginations everywhere as a timeless tale of one woman’s struggle to live a life of her choosing.”

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thanks, K. I wouldn’t have tackled this subject a few months ago. With each painting it becomes easier, though. I’ll look for Blood of Flowers in our library, thanks for the recommendation, it sounds like a book I’d like. 🙂 S


  4. I can see that I have made a comment here on your blog in 2008….a post on paperbowls….but returning here I see all your wonderful paintings and are very impressed by them….just wanted to let you know how goood these paintings of still life are…..so beautiful…

    anita thomhave simonsen

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thank you so much Anita. I don’t exhibit my work at the moment, so any feedback, especially positive 🙂 is welcome.


Leave a Reply

