Home

Knitting, Crocheting, Chocolate for the soul

August 27, 2013

I treated myself to some new yarns, I love the heathery colours, or sky tinted sea pebble colours. I am missing a dusty pink shade which exists in my head but not in this particular yarn, though.  After a productive workday, I went out on the deck to crochet some granny squares. Not the most original, but relaxing. I just love how the skeins look like big squishy eggs in their nest. And with Lucie there as well and the horses in the background, on a quiet summer’s day, that about sums up my idea of heaven.

Will post some of the squares another time. I love my crafts, but I’m not your next Emma Lamb. I love those sites, Emma’s, dottie angel’s, and the Pinterest crochet crowd, but I just dabble  when the spirit moves me. And I find that despite all good resolutions, I eventually tense up and have to watch out I don’t get obsessive. And besides, all that sitting isn’t good for me. I don’t know how some of them do it, well, they are all dears in their 30’s, bless ’em. But if I had to produce this stuff as a product, to a deadline, it would immediately kill all the enjoyment for me. My rate is about 2 squares a day, I’m working toward a realistic goal of a cushion cover- about 25 small squares.

The local paper had an article about the new yarn shop where I bought my wool, and the workshops and knitting evenings there. The title was , ‘Knitting, Chocolate for the soul’.  I agree. And I love the community aspect coming into it now.

7 Responses to “Knitting, Crocheting, Chocolate for the soul”


  1. That’s funny I dug out some old wool the other day with the intention of doing some crochet squares and making a throw eventually. I too have been following crochet people on pinterest and agree with you about the community aspect coming back. Reminiscent of the sewing bees of old.

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Yes, it reminded me of the quilting bees as well. This is a lovely site as well: http://myrosevalley.blogspot.nl/ There was an article in a great Dutch magazine called Flow- (internationally available too), and she was one of the featured craftspeople, very sweet and insipring. Good luck on your throw.

  2. Joline Frazier Says:

    I love to knit and crochet….It is really all about the yarn:)


  3. I am in love with this collage of your wonderful country life. Most especially the one of Lucie with the basket of yarn. It’s like she’s standing over it, protective. Have you considered painting this scene?

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      thanks Annie! No I haven’t thought of painting Lucie and the basket, but it is an interesting thought.

  4. Lineke Says:

    Hallo Sarah,
    Leuk je hier te treffen. Hoe gaat het met je? Zullen we weer eens contact met elkaar opnemen?
    Liefs, Lineke


Leave a Reply

