Home

Flock of friendly felt birdies

December 16, 2013

flock of felt birdies

flock of felt birdies

Crafty corner time! (Goodness, however will I keep up my image as a professional designer and serious painter by showing my small handmades?) Well, not my problem, I don’t see them as separate from my other work.

This group is sold out. I’ve found that selling works for me if it is to my immediate friends and other small local circles, like classes etc.

I wanted to share part of the process of making these little sweeties because it is something that evolved while working on these and might be fun or helpful for others.

During all my hand work projects I always felt bad about the waste of little bits of pure wool felt, silken embroidery threads and snippets of wool and acrylic yarns. I kept as many scraps as possible, but inevitably the tiniest pieces would get thrown away. Well, I just started putting them in a jar because the colours made me feel happy. And when they accumulated, the penny dropped, and whoopee, I discovered I  had ready-made stuffing for my brooches.

Here is my worktable surface, it pleases me how harmonious the colours of the washi tapes, scraps and Papaya mailing stickers are, oh and the crochet work in the background. I tend to stick to these kinds of warm pastels. Far left you can see my scrap collection jar.

tabletop

tabletop

work surface

Here is bluebird in the process of getting his innards.

getting filled

getting filled

And here he is ready to send to Sandy, my dear friend in Canada who will be his new mom.

‘Tweet’ (remember when that used to mean, bird word)!?

Bluebird with fancy toes

Bluebird with fancy toes

8 Responses to “Flock of friendly felt birdies”

  1. Julie Says:

    How lovely! I like the idea of keeping tiny scraps in a jam-jar and enjoying the colours 🙂

  2. decorartuk Says:

    Someone has been busy! Lovely little birds made by a very serious artist. You said “I don’t see them as separate from my other work” and I agree – they’re also very arty!

    P.S. I’m not a serious artist (although I’d love to become one) and I also like to make all sorts of things. Handmade is good, handmade is special and unique!

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      You are sweet, thank you, K.

      ps if you do decide to become a ‘serious’ artist, make sure you don’t get too serious, or take yourself too seriously,(something all of us need to watch out for, I’m afraid)! 🙂

  3. Kathy Crabbe Says:

    These are so sweet! And thanks for sharing all your work!

    Kathy C.
    Creative Soul Guide & Artist: http://KathyCrabbe.com


  4. A lady of many talents you are, Sarah! I just love the way you show the process. It lets me see how it all comes together. Thank you so much for sharing.


Leave a Reply

