Home

Serious bead habit

January 11, 2014

Kristina from decorartuk once again inspired me by her recent post on beading. She’s made some lovely woven bracelets.

classic bead loom

classic bead loom

It must be in the air, or telepathy, but I was thinking of taking out my bead loom again and weaving some new seed bead bracelets.  Beading has long been a hobby of mine, and when it comes to buying new colours I’m a serious addict. A past post shows the harvest from the last bead fair I visited, plus some projects I was working on at the time. I’ll post a few of those pictures again here.

fun at the bead fair

fun at the bead fair

Mostly tending towards blues, purples and aubergines

Mostly tending towards blues, purples and aubergines

Happy beading K, here are some of my past creations, I’ll post my new ones when I start on them.

woven beaded bracelets, worn regularly 2-3 at a time

woven beaded bracelets, worn regularly 2-3 at a time

8 Responses to “Serious bead habit”


  1. How do these bead looms work Sarah?

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      You thread on a warp, then per row, weave beads in. You can see some demos on YouTube, it is painstaking, but you don’t, for example, have to weave each single bead, it goes per row.

      Starting and finishing is always a matter of experimenting, my bracelets taper down to one bead on each end, it is just the method I’ve developed over the years, but there are lots of other ways to start and end.

  2. decorartuk Says:

    Sarah, compared to me you are a professional!

    First of all I love your collection of beads – I have less than 10 different colours, so after seeing your photos it seems that a trip to a bead shop is a must! I like the patterns you create – they remind me of things created by native Americans (is that a politically correct term?). Mine are either quite simple or hmm… probably unusual, for e.g. I’m thinking of creating one that would remind of leopard spots (mad… I know).

    Secondly, I still haven’t figured out how to finish them. Yours are so neat! I simply weave the ends of the threads into one rope and then the bracelet has to be tied onto your wrist. A clasp would work much better, so I’ll have to look into this.

    P.S. I believe it’s telepathy.
    P.P.S. I’m in love with one of your bracelets – the 4th from the right. Really beautiful pattern. By the way, do you make a sketch before you start weaving?

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Your bracelets are great!

      Yes, I think I’ve been influenced very much by Native American art and patterns (not sure if it is a politically correct term either?). Your leopard spots sound fantastic, the madder the better and more original as far as I’m concerned!

      Yes, all my first ones were finished in the way you’ve described. If I do actually get to making some soon, I’ll photo my ending and starting methods. One thing I do is to start in the middle and work out first to one end and then to the other. I do this because my method of tapering pulls the warp threads all together and can only be done when nearing the end.

      I work out patterns and colours on graph paper fist, so yes it is very planned out. Thanks for liking the bracelets, the 4th from the right is sweet also because after it was done I added bead edging up and down the sides. It is fun to share, maybe the next time I have, I’ll sketch out a few of my working methods, they might save you some time.

      ps- it is ironic that after my big splurge at the bead fair, I didn’t touch any beadloom work for several years. So I’m getting excited about trying some new colours and patterns out.


  3. You always amaze me with the depth and breadth of your talents. How exciting for you, Sarah! New projects on the horizon. Would love to see the work in progress. Cheers, Annie


Leave a Reply

