Home

January fruit bowl in oils

January 31, 2014

where I stopped

January fruit  2014

This is where I stopped, I could have done more, but liked the slightly raw quality. The photo is more contrasty than the painting, it was hard to capture-  it is actually dark and muted, not quite so harsh as it is here, especially the reds and ochres. The format is largish-
around 50 x 50cm.

It was difficult for me to not continue working and put in the pattern on the fabric. It was a good decision and is part of letting go and making one’s own choices about what to put in and what to leave out. It was good to go for the larger lines and not fuss over every detail.

Here is a peek at the fabric:

crop

7 Responses to “January fruit bowl in oils”

  1. Joline Frazier Says:

    This is so fresh and beautiful. The one thing I would respectfully suggest. Consider lightening the area on the fabric just to the viewers left of the fringe. It drew my eye immediately and for some reason looks like a pencil lead. I love the colors and the way you have placed the fruit on that wonderful blue fabric.
    Joline

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thanks Joline. I’m having a hard time finding the place you mention, can you be more specific? Oh wait, I think I see it. I’ll look on the painting itself and see if it still jumps out, if so I’ll do as you suggest.

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Fixed! thanks Joline.

  2. decorartuk Says:

    Love it. Not too much and not too little. I’m glad you resisted adding more detail to the fabric. K.

    P.S. My eyes go straight to the fruit in the bowl – brilliant colours.

  3. Jan Beerman Says:

    Enjoying January’s blog…so rich and full- your reflections on Cezanne…I feel as though if your paths had crossed you would have been friends! Congrats on selling your first oil, validating and well deserved. Enjoyed the reference to Abe Weiner… How well I remember your mentor’s name 🙂


    • Thanks Jani. Nice thought about if I’d met Cezanne. I wonder, he was very embittered and cross, very difficult personality. Towards the end of his life he had a phobia of physical contact as well. He probably would have found me a silly flibbertigibbet.
      Oh yes, dear Abe Weiner. Here is a link to some of his later paintings, he was a sort of city surrealist, painting Pittsburgh in all stages of becoming and breakdown, as if the city were a crystal or other natural object going through a life cycle. He would have been proud of me, now, I think, with my recent oils. It all goes back to the drawing lessons I had with him as a child, and later in my 40s I went back to him when he was still alive, and he taught me painting. (Better than all my college professors at Syracuse combined!).


Leave a Reply

