Home

Fun with plastics on Brighton beach

March 4, 2014

on the walk to Lewes

on the walk to Lewes

During my recent trip to England, this was the usual weather. And these muted greens and earth colours were the palette in the South Downs area.

There was some relief from that the day I went to Brighton to meet Sonia. I’ll write about our pleasurable meeting later, you can see Sonia’s account of it here.

I’d thought Brighton was a charming, small white-housed seaside resort- so I was kind of surprised at my first glimpse of it through the train window!

Brighton from train

And after Sonia and I had a light snack at the museum, and I headed out to the ocean, I got away as fast as possible from this scene.

brighton boardwalk
So I guess it isn’t surprising, considering the dull pre-spring greens I’d been seeing up until then,  that when I finally got to the beach, my eye was pulled to stronger colours. I had a brilliant time scavenging for bits of washed up plastic. Though it was devastating to see evidence of how plastics end up in the ocean food chain, I decided to see them also as colours and forms. Below is the first collection.

Collected within a circle about 2 meters from where I was sitting.

Collected within a circle about 2 meters from where I was sitting.

After that I set about collecting (via photos) plastic objects, one for each colour of the rainbow.

4 Responses to “Fun with plastics on Brighton beach”


  1. How wonderful! An optimistic way to see trash on the beach. Looking for the good and cleaning up at the same time. Thank you, Sarah!

    • Sarah Zoutewelle Says:

      Thanks Annie, I was inspired by a podcast from the Arthealing network (years ago) which featured the work of Judith Selby Lang and Richard Lang, who made artworks with found beach plastics. (Their exhibitions was called ‘Disposable Truths’) Unfortunately, I left my arrangements where they were, as ‘art’, so didn’t contribute to any cleaning effort.:-(


  2. There is an artist in Dunganess, Kent, who collects plastics from the beach and uses them for wonderful creations in his garden.


Leave a Reply

