Home

Reflections in oils

April 8, 2014

 

Reflections

Reflections

And now for something completely different.

This painting is done from a photo of Rende’s. Normally I avoid working from his beautiful photos, since he has already made all the aesthetic decisions, there doesn’t seem to be any challenge in just copying them.  But I needed a break from fruit (!) and the rippling water with reflections and that lovely red edge of the boat fascinated me.

I used oils but first painted an acrylic ground of that heightened turquoise which shines through most of the painting. My broad, synthetic brushes worked really well getting the large areas of water down, and frankly, this went quickly and more easily than my still lifes. I left a lot of it just as I first sketched it in, and am happy not to have overworked this one.

For more of Rende’s reflection photos, see this book.

 

4 Responses to “Reflections in oils”

  1. decorartuk Says:

    I think it’s very good. Definitely something completely different, yet really well captured! I love the reflections – I wouldn’t be brave to even try to paint them… Frame it, as it deserves it’s own spot on some wall for people to enjoy it. K.


Leave a Reply

