Home

Mega bubbles, yarn bombing, and other useful activities

August 7, 2014

megabubbles in evening light

megabubbles in evening light

Photo Rende Zoutewelle

This is me playing. It could turn into my new art form – it requires only soap, water, air and light. One has no control over the colours or forms, and it is extremely ephemeral.

You can’t interpret it, you can’t put a price tag on it, you can’t sell it, and you can’t market anything but the equipment used to make it, (which I happily leave to others), or I suppose you could charge for being a performing bubble artist.

As I practice it more, I’m discovering that it really is a skill. You have to be aware of the humidity, and be alert to every nuance of breeze and wind.You can regulate the forms somewhat by opening and closing the loop at different intervals, and can do virtuoso bubble blowing by trying to blow one bubble inside another. When I do it on the street, it makes most motorists slow down and smile – equally important on our road where people constantly abuse the 30km speed limit.

I’ve also been up to some yarn bombing. It was a good way to give some love to a dead tree at the end of our front garden, and once more, bring a smile to the faces of passers by going slowly enough to see it. The first crocheted mandalas started to curl,

how things looked in May

how things looked in May

so I took them all down and treated them with a fabric stiffener (Modgepodge), and now they hold their shape. I’ve sewn the felt leaves by hand, and our neighbour children helped me place some of them.

In order to try to slow down some of the traffic coming through our village, the province placed some  cement obstacles up and down the road. One is so close to our garden, I decided to extend our garden onto it and make it an edible green spot. Unfortunately, despite careful care and watering, the plants (nasturtium, strawberry, lettuce, violas) pined away there, they didn’t like the traffic, the direct sun, the fumes? Who knows? So now I’ve got some hardy geraniums on there to see how they do.

201429mei_1530

Painting has ground to a halt for now. I’m writing, though,  not sure if there will be an end product.But with luck it could consolidate into a book on many of the themes touched on here and on tendingtime, my other wordpress blog.

 

 

4 Responses to “Mega bubbles, yarn bombing, and other useful activities”


  1. I love the crocheted tree covering looks so jolly.

  2. decorartuk Says:

    Look at these bubbles! No wonder everyone slows down just to have a look at what is going on.- a real modern art performance.

    As you are trying to put smiles on strangers faces I assume you are feeling happy at this point in your life – only happy people want to spread good vibes.

    Love your tree, but can’t understand why plants die in your extended garden… You need to do some research, so I approve of your smart move to try and plant different plants, i.e. geraniums. Let me if they like their new spot.

    K.

    P.S. How do you prepare that bubble mix? I tried making some using Fairy liquid, but it didn’t work (even using just a small bubble blowing tool).


    • Nice insight re this being a happy period in my life, you are right.

      Well, the plants on top of the cement obstacle are in pots, dry out fast and get a lot of direct hot sun. I’ll see how the flowers do.

      After many attempts at making the bubble mix myself, I now order it from a guy in Holland who experimented until he got one which would hold really big bubble tunnels. The only mix I ever had which came close to it was Dreft (the kind of dishwashing liquid seems to make a big difference!) and glycerine added to the water. There are lots of recipes on the internet. I made some bubble loops with bandage gauze for the rope, and bamboo sticks. Worked fine.


Leave a Reply

