Home

Yellow, and the colours in white

October 2, 2014

Yellow almost done

Yellow   almost done

On one of my walks I stayed in a B&B which was a rebuilt farm. It was beautifully done, preserving the farm’s former character. Some of the walls were more than a foot thick – I shot this sunlit china collection in a recessed (ex-) stall window during breakfast. Next is the underpainting and a first tentative sketch. What I wanted to capture was the yellowness of everything, the walls, the teapots, the sunlight streaming in. (The title refers to a song by my current favourite band, Coldplay.)

Early stage

Early stage

Below is the final, I actually like the lightness of the former stage at the top of this post because it comes closer to what I wanted to do. But I like the juiciness of this last version as well.

Yellow done, oil on canvas board

Yellow done, oil on canvas board

For the next painting I revisited some photos of still lifes. I wanted to paint the white cloth and capture all the colours in white in different lights. I struggled with various versions of this one. They say that a painting is never finished, it just stops somewhere interesting.

Acrylic underpainting

Acrylic underpainting

Sketching in first oil layer

Sketching in first oil layer

Apple and lemon, oil on canvas board, many versions later

Apple and lemon, oil on canvas board, many versions later

6 Responses to “Yellow, and the colours in white”


  1. I missed seeing your works in progress and completed. Glad you are showing them again. Delightful!

  2. anita thomhave simonsen Says:

    your paintings are very beautiful…love seeing the stages of the Work…:O)

    friendly thoughts form me

    Anita Thomhave Simonsen, Denmark


  3. You’ve captured such a beautiful sunny glow, it warms me to look at it in these colder days of autumn. Very calming.


Leave a comment