Home

Recent work

July 21, 2015

5 bottle still life, oils

5 bottle still life, oils

This might look familiar to some of you, I’ve been working on a series of Rende’s photos of bottles in front of some of my still life paintings. I did 2 versions of this one, and the second is still in progress. This one tries to be true to the photo which I loved because of the contrast between the rich darks and glowing oranges. I took it with very little light in my studio, so it is hand held and out of focus (see the signature) . The bottles are quite clean and sharp in the original painting. I was especially happy with the right edge of the bowl seen through the blue bottle.

And now for something entirely different. I fell in love yet again with another of Ivon Hitchens’ paintings.

Original September Bouquet, Ivon Hitchens

Original September Bouquet, Ivon Hitchens

So I spent some happy days copying it. My version is a bit livelier qua colour, I like them both. Also, my canvas was a different proportion so I had to fudge the layout a little.

Copy of HItchens September bouquet, oils

Copy of Hitchens September bouquet, oils

I just can’t imagine sitting in front of a vase, container (?) of flowers on a wood floor and producing something as gauzy and vague as this. It is a bouquet, yet there are hardly any greens except those nice two fresh strokes on the left.

What that shape is in the lower right corner, I have no idea. I can’t get inside this guys head in any way. If you see some of his other work, you’ll see that form isn’t the main thing with him. But I still love his nonchalance and in some of his other still lifes, the addition of scribbly outlines as well as decorative colour patches.

I’m getting up the nerve to do a painting of my own in his style; I’ve already done a preliminary watercolour study for it, but it is such an alien way of working for me. We’ll see.

6 Responses to “Recent work”


  1. Hitchen’s use of colour and form is intriguing – and becomes more so on 2nd look. I’m captivated by your still life though


  2. Hello Sarah,
    Thank you for sharing these Hitchens pieces, I do like that panoramic format to his work and hard to pull off I’d imagine.
    I am intrigued by your still life version, which may have been led by the Hitchens original but also has qualities of its own in palette and mark making, perhaps it possesses its own Sarahness, filtered through your vision
    regards
    John


    • Hi John, yes, the format of some of the more abstract work is sort of panoramic.
      I so appreciate what you’ve said about my copy, that it has something like my own qualities in it, a Sarahness. That is a real boost, thank you.
      best wishes,
      Sarah


  3. Always such fun to see you stretching your artistic legs! Keep on keepin’ on, Sarah!


Leave a Reply

