Home

The art of life

October 5, 2017

tom plant finals 006

Tomato plant    acrylic on canvas board  50 x 70cm

Every now and then, while painting, something amazing takes place. There is a sense of recognition. It is as if something, though wholly new, also reflects to me a part of myself I hadn’t yet met. I recognise it as ‘me’, and it is almost always a sign that my work is continuing to grow and develop in a direction that makes sense to me, but that I would never have been able to plan for.

It is about taking the next step in total trust, and keeping going when things don’t seem to be leading anywhere. In fact, the best breakthroughs seem to happen after one of those seemingly fruitless periods where every painting seems to be a repetition or failure, and you’re wondering whether to just put those brushes in storage and forget this whole thing!!

tom plant finals 003

Morning light on tomato plant   acrylic 40 x 50cm

This is the inner process of art, where while you are working on a painting you are also working on yourself. It is no coincidence that in my quest to loosen up in my painting, I am pointed to areas in my life which need letting go of. Not getting lost in detail in a painting, means ability to see the greater picture. Suggesting things in a composition rather than spelling them out ad infinitum corresponds to trusting more in life and going forward even when I feel I don’t have enough information. Trusting the process, getting out of the way, taking risks, staying true, being flexible- all about life and art and the art of life.

So these new pieces work on multiple levels. And I’ve been feeling slightly restricted by small formats, so tomorrow I’m getting some BIG canvasses. Stay tuned.

tom plant finals 001

Most recent painting, tomato plant revisited   acrylic   40 x 40cm

 

3 Responses to “The art of life”

  1. C-Marie Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!! So free!! God bless you, C-Marie

  2. Jo Clutton Says:

    Hi Sara!

    Just looked at your blog. Excellent!

    I’m Jo – artist, writer, traveller, mental health advocate, music lover, wild west nut intrigued by science, and renaissance soul with a potty sense of humour. I’ve miraculously recovered from thirty years of depression – a medication crisis was the catalyst, I’ve never felt this good – and I’m chronicling the rebuild of my polymath and hopefully adventurous, creative lifestyle on my blog, Creating My Odyssey.

    I’m networking with creatives and reaching people with a voice, and those with depression in particular, to explain that this illness is the most treatable of mental health issues. It was purely by chance that my husband and I contacted the brilliant mental health team, who, with a combination of medication (known as California Rocket Fuel- love it!) and cognitive behavioural therapy, brought me to where I am now. Which proves that provided sufferers know where to look, help is available. That’s the hard part, which shouldn’t be the case.

    With this blog, which is a great vehicle for my creativity and also covers a myriad of eclectic subjects, I’m unleashing everything that was previously hidden under a bushel, and I’ve had articles published on various mental health sites. I’m also posting other blog links on my site and love to exchange links and guest posts with other bloggers, particularly on mental health issues, so if you’re interested, I’d love to hear from you.

    I’ve also been writing a humongous novel forever, on and off, particularly during young parenthood and depression, to help keep me sane. Alias Jeannie Delaney is the life story of a devastating cowgirl who’s the fastest gun in the west and also bisexual. Since my recovery from depression I’ve decided it’s time to get it out there! I’m blogging about it on my site. My husband has finally taken me in hand and we’re now working our way through it.

    Thank you so much for reading!

    Jo UK

    http://www.jo-b-creative.blogspot.co.uk Kitty Le Roy’s Wild West Facebook Jo Bennett Facebook Creating My Odyssey Facebook Kitty Le Roy’s Wild West Saloon Twitter Jo Clutton Instagram JMClutton Linkedin Jo Clutton


Leave a Reply

